Naxos

Naxos

This is Naxos

An island in the heart of the Aegean Sea, with imposing mountain massifs and fertile valleys, inhabited by cheerful people and full of beauty that enchants visitors. You will meet authentic mountain villages, 40 km sandy beaches with crystal clear water, and antique monuments.

Hospitality and friendliness have a long tradition in Naxos. In Naxos you can find all the proverbial Greek hospitality and feel the 'Greek spirit'

DSC_0239

naxos_filoti

There are many reasons to travel to Naxos, here are the three most frequently mentioned:

The beaches

naxos_plaka_beach

The beaches of Naxos are the longest sandy beaches in the European Mediterranean area, their names are Prokopios, Plaka, Mikri Vigla, Kastraki, Aliko, Pirkagi. Some beaches have a background with sandy dunes, some are lonely and some offer busy life with tavernas and sunshades and all have crystal clear water. Tripadvisor ranked Naxos' Plaka Beach among the top ten beaches worldwide. 

Antique monuments

DSC_0184

 

 

Personal Tips for Naxos travelers - selected by Korres Store

Eat and drink

naxos_scirocco

Scirocco is an institution in Naxos. Located in the very busy center at Court square in Naxos Town. They offer a modern Greek cuisine with an international touch, everything from their menu card has a wonderful taste. You should also try the fantastic greek wines, our favorite are Assyrtiko from Santorini (white) and the Grand Reserva from Porto Carras (red). 

DSC_0192

Cedar Bar at Plaka Beach is a wonderful place to relax just a few meters ahead of the crystal clear water of the Aegean Sea. The soothing music playing in the background offers an extremely relaxed atmosphere where you could stay the whole day. The lounge bar serves breakfast, snacks and salads, cocktails and coffees. Our favorite is the mango-salad.   

DSC_0177

Rotonda is located in the mountains of Naxos between the villages Filoti and Apiranthos. In the antique mythology the Naxos mountains were assumed to be the home of god Zeus. And indeed the breathtaking view in Rotonda gives you a feeling like God Zeus by overlooking the Island of Naxos and the surrounding Cycladic islands. But the gigantic view is not the only reason for a trip to Rotonda, it is also the kitchen, offering Greek gourmet cuisine at it's best.

Learn more from National Geographic: Eat like a god on this sun-soaked Greek island

 https://relay.nationalgeographic.com/proxy/distribution/public/amp/travel/destinations/europe/greece/unique-food-culture-cuisine-island-of-naxos?fbclid=IwAR3hF2Oz4wmJkpaOvSyssseg8K67uw6yX5v8zPSeWZ8

   

Shopping 

Fashion

DSC_0208

Agora Inside 

AGORA in Naxos Town. Secretly Greece has become of one of the most inspiring fashion countries in recent years. In Agora you will find the very best Greece fashion labels like Ioanna Kourbella, Stelios Koudounaris, mariO,  La vaca locaAthena Procopiou - click on the label names to see more

Greek Olive Oil

Olivenoel_Naxos

In recent years Greek olive oil companies have unveiled new, innovative brands while stepping up the quality of their products. Many of them got international awards. The Deli-Store NAXOS TRADITIONAL DAIRY by Manolis Koufopoulos in Naxos Town offers the very best organic Greek extra virgin oils. Olive Oil from Kalamata with a fine harmonic flavor, Olive Oil from Creta with a more strong flavor or from the Cycladic islands with a fine bitter flavor.

 

KORRES

The roots of KORRES lead to Naxos, where George Korres's grandfather produced 'rakomelon' an aromatic herbal syrup. Korres is in Greece an exclusive pharmacy product and at Naxos every pharmacy is offering Korres products. For Naxos travelers, the Korres products are popular souvenirs. Because in Korres' homeland the products can be bought with a 20% - 30 % price advantage it is a good chance for Korres fans to stock up on Korres products in Naxos pharmacies.   

DSC_0204  DSC_0205

Grafitti Art

In the south of the island lies the beach Alyko, where 50 years ago it was started to build a hotel complex that was never completed, the shell buildings are still there and are abandoned to decay. Graphic artists from all over the world have discovered this scene for themselves and one can admire there large-format Grafitti wall pictures.

grafitti_naxos_5Foto: Brigitte Zinger

Naxos

Naxos

Das ist Naxos

Die Insel Naxos liegt in der Mitte der Ägäis und ist die größte Insel der Cycladen. Mit Bergen von knapp über 1000 Metern, authentischen Dörfern und über 40 km langen Sandstränden mit kristallklarem Wasser und zahlreichen antiken Baudenkmälern beeindruckt die Insel ihre Gäste.

Auf Naxos finden Sie noch die sprichwörtliche griechische Gastfreundschaft, die Insel hat noch ihre Ursprünglichkeit bewahrt und Sie erleben dort noch überall den 'Greek Spirit' . 

DSC_0239

naxos_filoti

Für eine Reise oder einen Urlaub in Naxos gibt es vielerlei Gründe:

Die Strände

naxos_plaka_beach

Die Strände auf Naxos sind die längsten Sandstrände im europäischen Mittelmeerraum, ihre Namen sind Prokopius, Plaka, Mikri Vigla, Kastraki, Aliko, Pirkagi. Viele der Strände haben im Hintergrund Sanddünen, ähnlich den Nordseestränden, manche sind belebt mit traumhaften Tavernen direkt am Strand, manche sind einsam und ruhig gelegen, alle haben sie kristallklares Wasser. Bei TRIPADVISOR wurde der Plaka Strand unter den weltweit Top Ten Stränden gerankt.

Antike Monumente

DSC_0184

Naxos verfügt über eine bewegte Geschichte, die bis weit in die Antike zurückreicht und die ihre Spuren in Form von beeindruckenden historischen Bauten zeigt. Zahlreiche Monumente aus antiker und frühchristlicher Zeit finden sich überall auf der Insel. 

Tips für Naxos Urlauber - ausgewählt von Korres Store:

Essen und Trinken

naxos_scirocco

Scirocco ist eine Institution auf Naxos. Mitten am zentralen Court Square der Inselhauptstadt gelegen, bietet es moderne griechischen Küche mit einem internationalen Touch. Alle Speisen auf der vielfältigen Speisekarte werden mit regionalen Zutaten frisch zubereitet und schmecken wunderbar. Unser besonderer Tip zwei phantstische Weine aus der umfangreichen Weinkarte: Unsere Lieblinge sind der Assyrthiko aus Santorin (weiß) und der Grand Reserva von Porto Carras (rot).

DSC_0192

Cedar Bar an der Plaka Beach: Ein wundervoller Ort zum Relaxen, direkt am Plaka Strand gelegen. Sanfte Chill Out Musik im Hintergrund sorgt für eine extrem relaxte Atmosphäre, man könnte hier den ganzen Tag verbringen. Die Lounge Bar bietet Frühstück, kleine , stets frisch zubereitete Snacks und Salate. Unser Lieblingsgericht: Der Mango Salat.

DSC_0177

Rotanda liegt in den Bergen von Naxos an der Straße zwischen Filoti und Apiranthos. In der antiken Mythologie wurden die Berge von Naxos als Heimat des Gottes Zeus angesehen. In der Tat fühlt man sich beim Blick von der Terasse der Taverne Rotanda wie ein Gott: Nicht nur die ganze Insel mit der Inselhauptstadt breitet sich aus, der Blick reicht über die weite cycladische Inselwelt. Unvergessen bleibt das Erlebnis eines Sonnenuntergangs von Rotanda. Aber nicht nur wegen des gigantischen Ausblicks lohnt sich ein Ausflug zu Rotonda, auch die Küche begeistert mit griechischer Küche von ihrer besten Seite. 

Shopping

Mode 

DSC_0208

Agora Inside

AGORA in Naxos Chora. Lassen Sie sich von griechischen Modelabels überraschen, klammheimlich entwickelte sich Griechenland zu einem der inspirierensten Modeländer. Bei Agora finden Sie die bekanntesten griechischen Modedesigner, klicken Sie einfach hier mal durch, mit Klick auf den Namen landen Sie auf der Webseite des jeweiligen Modelabels:

Griechisches Olivenöl

Aegean treasures

In den vergangenen Jahren entwickelten griechische Olivenöl-Hersteller einen ungemeinen Qualitätsschub nach oben mit neuen innovativen Marken. Viele vonn ihnen haben inzwischen internationale Qualitätsauszeichnungen errungen und sich an die weltweite Qualitäts-Spitze herangearbeitet. Aegean Treasures in Naxos Chora bietet eine Auswahl der besten griechischen Bio Olivenöle. Ähnlich dem Wein sind auch die Aromen der griechischen Olivenöle abhängig von der Region und Olivensorte: Öl aus Kalamata hat einen feinen harmonischen Geschmack, Öl aus Kreta ist kräftiger und das Cycladische Olivenöl hat einen feinen bitteren Geschmack.  

KORRES

Die Wurzeln von Korres führen auf die Insel Naxos, wo George Korres' Großvater einen alkoholhaltigen Honigsyrup produzierte, der bei Erkältungen und Halsschmerzen gerne als lindernde Medizin genommen wurde. In Griechenland sind Korres Produkte exklusive Apothekenprodukte, auf Naxos gibt es Korres Produkte in jeder Apotheke. Korres Produkte sind immer ein willkommenes Reisemitbringsel von einer Naxos Reise. 

 DSC_0204    DSC_0205